NA passes bill proposing half-year prison, Rs: 1m fine for 'scorn of parliament.'
Connect with us

Daily News Paper

NA passes bill proposing half-year prison, Rs: 1m fine for ‘scorn of parliament.’



NA passes bill
  • After being introduced by Rana Qasim Noon, the bill was approved.
  • It was suggested to establish a Parliamentary Contempt Committee with 24 members.
  • Both government and opposition MPs will have equal representation on the committee.

The “Contempt of Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) Bill, 2023,” which calls for up to six months in jail and a Rs. 1 million fine for actions that “breach the sovereignty and integrity of the legislature in any form or shade,” was approved by the National Assembly on Tuesday with unanimous consent.

The NA passes contempt of Parliament’s bill.

The bill presented to the lower House for approval under the chairmanship of Rana Qasim Noon. A dissident Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) legislator and Chairman of the Standing Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges.

Serve for Government Instruction and Expert Preparation Rana Tanveer Hussain valued the bill and said that this would assist with further developing the oversight job of Parliament.

Tanveer said, “Law on Contempt of Parliament was the Need of the Hour,” he added that while there was a law for the contempt of every institution, there was not one for Parliament.

Under the proposed regulation, a 24-part Parliamentary Hatred Panel will research disdain of parliament cases. 

According to the strategy, there will be committee participants from both the government and the opposition.

Under the bill, the board can bring any state or government official for disdain of Parliament.

According to the idea, the committee will submit a report to the Senate chairman and NA speaker, who will decide who should punished in light of the recommendations.

As per this bill, a house, through a movement, may charge any individual for disdain of a home. 

The speaker of the House or the chairperson of the Senate may move to submit a case to the Contempt Committee when a Committee anticipates that a person will charged with contempt of the Committee.

Establish Contempt Committee within 30 days of the Act’s start.

The Speaker shall create a Contempt Committee within thirty (30) days after the commencement of this Act for the purposes hereof.

There will be 24 members of the Contempt Committee, with equal representation from each House.

The Contempt Committee will comprise ten members chosen by the Leader of the Opposition of each House from the Treasury Benches, five from each House, and fourteen selected by the Leader of the House from the opposition benches, seven from each House.

The National Assembly Secretariat Secretary will serve as the secretary of the contempt committee. 

Most of those present make the contempt Committee’s decisions voters cast based on recommendations.

The bill expresses that the right of a fair preliminary will given to each, as revered in the Constitution. 

However, nobody can show up before the Council through a legitimate expert or a backer. 

The Contempt Committee will elect a Chairman at its initial meeting from among its members.

A House may impose any sanctions outlined in this Act on the committee’s recommendations. 

The penalty for contempt of a House or Committee is simple imprisonment for up to six months or a fine of up to one million rupees. Depending on the offense’s severity.

After the incumbent government complained about the Supreme Court’s and other state institutions’ involvement in administrative matters. There were calls to move a bill for contempt of Parliament.

In response to Parliament’s demands. The NA’s Standing Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges approved the introduction of a “contempt of parliament bill” on the House floor earlier this month.

Keep Reading: –